HEAB >> Frequently Asked Questions

Talent Incentive Program (TIP) Grant Questions

Who is eligible for the TIP Grant?

An initial TIP award may only be given to a Wisconsin resident first-time freshman, enrolled at least half-time in a degree or certificate program, who demonstrates financial need and who comes from a non-traditional or educationally-disadvantaged background.

 

What is a "first-time freshman?"

A first-time freshman is a student who has been enrolled in a post-secondary institution for less than two semesters at half or greater time since attending high school.

 

What are the "financial need" criteria for an initial TIP award?

  • Family Contribution
    1. A dependent student whose expected parent contribution is $200 or less.
    2. An independent student whose academic year contribution is $200 or less.
  • TANF or W2 Benefits
    1. A dependent student whose family is receiving TANF or W2 benefits.
    2. An independent student who is receiving TANF or W2 benefits.
  • Unemployment
    1. A dependent student whose parent(s) are ineligible for unemployment compensation and has/have no current income from employment.
    2. An independent student (and spouse, if married) who is/are ineligible for unemployment compensation and has/have no current income from employment.

PLEASE NOTE! An eligible initial TIP recipient must meet at least one of the financial need criteria AND at least one of the non-traditional / educationally-disadvantaged criteria.

 

What are the "non-traditional / educationally-disadvantaged" criteria?

  • The student is or will be enrolled in a special academic support program due to insufficient academic preparation.
  • The student is a first-generation post-secondary student (neither parent graduated from a four-year college or university).
  • The student is handicapped according to the Department of Workforce Development, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) or according to the Special Needs or Disabilities Office on Wisconsin college or university campuses which use the Americans with Disabilities Act definition.
  • The student is currently or was formerly incarcerated in a correctional institution.
  • The student's environmental or academic background is such that it deters the pursuit of educational plans.

PLEASE NOTE! An eligible initial TIP recipient must meet at least one of the financial need criteria AND at least one of the non-traditional / educationally-disadvantaged criteria.

 

Which schools participate in the Talent Incentive Program?

The TIP Grant is available at all University of Wisconsin campuses and Wisconsin Technical Colleges, as well as non-profit independent colleges and universities based in Wisconsin, and Wisconsin tribal colleges.

 

What applications are required for the TIP Grant?

The student must file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). A student may be nominated for the TIP Grant by their school financial aid office or by a counselor of the Wisconsin Educational Opportunity Programs. Any additional forms will be provided by the school financial aid office or the nominating WEOP counselor.

 

Can a student receive the TIP Grant after their freshman year?

Only first-time freshmen are eligible for an initial TIP award. A student who received the TIP Grant as a freshman may continuing to receive the TIP Grant for a total of 10 semesters (including the freshman year), but a student cannot receive an initial TIP award after their first year in school.

 

What are the requirements for continuing to receive the TIP Grant?

To be eligible for a continuing TIP award, the student must:

  • continue to be a Wisconsin resident enrolled at least half-time in a degree or certificate program
  • make satisfactory academic progress toward their degree or certificate
  • continue to demonstrate financial need
  • be continuously enrolled from semester to semster and from year to year
 

Can a student permanently lose eligiblilty for the TIP Grant?

If the student is not continuously enrolled, if they withdraw or otherwise cease to attend classes, they are no longer eligible for the TIP grant if they enroll again at a later date.

 

Are there any exceptions to the continuous enrollment requirement?

Exceptions to this requirement may be made by HEAB's Executive Secretary for active duty military service or for an illness or other medical condition which prevents attendance. All medical exceptions must be documented by a physician and will be for not longer than 12 months.

A request for an exception may be made by completing and submitting the form, which is available on the Student Forms and Applications page.