State of Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board (DLAB)

Friday, December 14, 2018

Minutes

Members present: Dr. Morna Foy, WTCS

Dr. Ray Cross, UW System – via phone

Dr. Rolf Wegenke, WAICU

Ms. Kirsten Reader, DSPS (proxy) - via phone

Others present: Ms. Monique Currie, WTCS

Ms. Joan Gage, DSPS

Ms. Paige Smith, UW System Ms. Rebecca Larson, WAICU Ms. Erin Engsberg, WAICU

Call to Order and Open Meeting Statement - Morna Foy, DLAB Chair

Dr. Foy, DLAB chair, called the meeting to order. Dr. Foy requested that Ms. Engsberg read the Open Meeting Statement as follows: "The December 14, 2018 meeting of the Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board and all other meetings of this board are open to the public in compliance with State Statute. Notice of the meeting has been sent to the press in an attempt to make the general public of Wisconsin aware of the time, place and agenda of the meeting."

Report of the Chair – Morna Foy

Dr. Foy updated the board that there was no tribal representative appointment to the board. Both new presidents of the tribal colleges have submitted their names as representatives. There has not been a review or appointment by the Governor. Dr. Foy will follow up with Governor Evers office to complete this process.

During the October meeting, changes to the NC SARA manual were discussed. The change discussed by the DLAB board was that the approval of two compacts would be required prior to a significant change going to the full board. Also, it was requested that the term "significant" should be defined. A letter has been sent to the Executive Director of MHEC. Following discussion with the Executive Director of NC SARA, it was decided that changes would be tabled, and appropriate processes investigated.

Action: Approval of October 8, 2018 DLAB meeting minutes – Morna Foy

The minutes of the October 8, 2018 meeting were approved unanimously as presented. (Wegenke/Foy motion)

The minutes will be posted on the DLAB website.

Report: Review and Approval of Institutional Renewal Applications & Withdrawals

Ms. Larson reported that all of the nonprofit institutions have submitted their renewal. The exception is Northland College, which is following through with the withdrawal process. There are now a total of nineteen nonprofit institutions participating in SARA.

Ms. Currie reported that nine technical colleges have submitted their renewals and were approved. Two technical colleges, Milwaukee and Lakeshore, did not renew. Two technical colleges changed their minds and have re-submitted as new institutions - Waukesha County Technical College and Lakeshore Technical College.

These withdrawals and reapplications demonstrate that the renewal process is too frequent. Dr. Foy would like to advocate for extended renewal periods - two years for institutions and three years for state.

Action: Approval of Initial Institutional (Re-) Applications – Monique Currie

Ms. Currie presented the re-applications for two technical system colleges:

- Waukesha County Technical College
- Lakeshore Technical College

There is no form for a reapplication. The two were required to submit a full application mirroring that required of initial applicants. The applications both provided two contacts, the official application completed, a URL for the complaint process, as well as the current Executive Order and documentation of accreditation.

A motion was made to accept the reapplication of Waukesha County Technical College and Lakeshore Technical College. (Cross/Wegenke motion) The applications were approved unanimously.

<u>Action: Approval of draft annual report on DLAB activities – Rebecca Larson</u> Ms. Larson provided a summary of the draft annual report on DLAB activities. This report is due by January 31, 2019. The report was prepared with input and review by

all the staff. The report reminds the legislature of the history and makeup of the DLAB as well as reporting on the meetings held and on what was discussed, the leadership of the board, changes to the DLAB operating procedures, the listing of the institutions in Wisconsin by sectors, discussion of the enrollment and where the students are participating and how many are participating from out-of-state at Wisconsin institutions. The report also outlines who has the highest online enrollment, the renewal by institutions, and the statutory requirement to list all exempt institutions in the *Administrative Register*. Dr. Foy pointed out that consumer protection was an argument for SARA, and there have been no complaints from students.

A motion was put forth to approve the report and submit with changes as discussed (Foy/Cross motion). There motion was unanimously approved. Dr. Foy will submit the report.

Report: List of exempt institutions – Rebecca Larson

Ms. Larson presented the annual updated list of exempt institutions. This list will be published in the administrative register in December 2018. The only change is that UW colleges were taken off the list.

Action: Election of Officers for 2019

A motion was made to approve a new slate of officers for DLAB. These appointments are annual appointments. (Foy/Cross motion).

Dr. Rolf Wegenke - Chair

Dr. Ray Cross - Vice Chair

Dr. Morna Foy - Secretary

The motion was unanimously approved

Dr. Cross extended thanks to Dr. Foy for the time spent getting DLAB going. The DLAB makes the case for collaborative effort, and Wisconsin continues to be the envy of other states.

Dr. Wegenke will assume the chair on January 1, 2019. Dr. Foy will submit the annual report and follow up with the new administration on the tribal appointment to the board.

Next meeting date discussion – Morna Foy

No meeting date was decided and the need for a meeting is dependent on receipt of applications for approval by the board.

Adjournment
There was no further discussion and the meeting adjourned by unanimous consent (Cross/Wegenke motion).