State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board

Meeting Minutes March 2, 2007

Board Members Present: Ann Neviaser, Mary Jo Green via phone, Debra McKinney via phone, Ann Greenheck via phone, Kevin Ingram via phone, Thomas Shields via phone, Elizabeth Tucker via phone, and Katie Klaus for Verna Fowler via phone.

HEAB Staff Present: Connie Hutchison, Sherrie Nelson, John Whitt, Sandy Thomas, Cassie Weisensel

Others Present: Sharon Wilhelm, UW System Administration; Dan Goyette, Alverno via phone; Tom Heffron, WTCS; Kristofer Frederick, UW System Administration; RJ Binau, DOA; Ian Walsh, United Council; Rolf Wegenke, WAICU via phone; Vicki Sommers, Alverno via phone.

Chair Mary Jo Green called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Mary Jo Green asked if there would be objection to postponing all discussion items to the next meeting. She said that since so many members had to call in due to weather, it seemed best to deal only with those items that required board action. There were no objections to Mary Jo's suggestion.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Moved by Ann Neviaser, seconded by Ann Greenheck to approve the minutes of the October 13, 2006 Board Meeting.

REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY:

Update on Governor's Budget Proposal: Governor Doyle has included the 0.64 position that HEAB lost last year in the budget recommendation. Veterans Tuition Remission reimbursement has been included in the Governor's budget at the rate of half of what was requested. A \$19,000 per year increase for Minority Retention Grant, a \$15,719,400 increase in WHEG - UW funding over the next two years, an \$835,600 increase in WHEG – WTCS over the next two years, and a \$1,241,800 increase in WTG over the next two years.

HEAB did not get funding for the WI Covenant Scholarship, however, the Governor recommended that two positions be created at DOA to put the scholarship structure and procedures together. A temporary DOA employee has been hired to work on the Covenant and she is working closely with HEAB and other organizations.

Reciprocity Negotiations Status: Negotiations are continuing between Wisconsin and Minnesota.

BOARD REPORT #07-13 2007-2008 WTG Program Formula

Recommendation of WAICU (Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities) President Dr. Rolf Wegenke: Continue the current maximum award of \$2900; increase the minimum award from \$750 to \$1000. Connie Hutchison concurred with the recommendation.

Moved by Ann Neviaser, seconded by Debra McKinney, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #07-14 2007-2008 WHEG Tribal Program Formula

Formula recommendation from College of Menominee Nation President Verna Fowler, PhD: (There was no recommendation from the Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College.)

 $($6,650 - EFC) \ge 27.44\% = Award: Maximum Award: $1,800; Minimum Award: $250 This reflects no change from the current year's formula.$

Connie Hutchison concurred with the recommendation.

Moved by Debra McKinney, seconded by Ann Neviaser, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #07-15 2007-2008 WHEG - UW Program Formula

Recommendation of the University of Wisconsin System President Kevin Reilly, concurred by Connie Hutchison:

Part 1: (\$5588 – EFC) x 50% = Award Maximum Award: \$2730 Minimum Award: \$674

Part 2: If additional dollars beyond the statutory defined increases become available to hold students harmless to tuition increases, the *dollars be distributed across the calculated awards to ensure students' awards increase similar to the amount tuition increases.*

Moved by Liz Tucker, seconded by Tom Shields, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #07-16 2007-2008 WHEG - WTCS Program Formula

Recommendation of the Wisconsin Technical College System President Dan Clancy, concurred by Connie Hutchison:

(\$8,000 – EFC) x 12.5% = Award Maximum Award: \$1,000 Minimum Award: \$350

Moved by Ann Greenheck, seconded by Debra McKinney, to accept this recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #07-17 PROPOSED LEGISLATION: DRUG CONVICTIONS

This bill makes a postsecondary student who is convicted of manufacturing, distributing, or delivering, or of possessing, with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver, a controlled

substance or controlled substance analog under the law of this state or a substantially similar federal law or law of another state based on conduct that occurred during a period of enrollment for which the postsecondary student was receiving any state financial assistance provided by the Higher Education Aids Board or the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System ineligible to receive any state financial assistance for a period of two years following the conviction, and a postsecondary student who is convicted of such a crime based on that conduct following a previous conviction for such a crime based on that conduct ineligible for state financial assistance for an indefinite period, unless the student satisfactorily completes a drug rehabilitations program or the conviction is reversed, set aside, or vacated.

Moved by Debra McKinney, seconded by Ann Neviaser, that HEAB work to ensure that any legislation mirror federal legislation. The motion passed unanimously.

Moved by Thomas Shields, seconded by Ann Greenheck, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and Chair Mary Jo Green adjourned the meeting at 10:20am.

Respectfully submitted by Debra McKinney, Secretary