State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board

Meeting Minutes August 10, 2007

Board Members Present: Mary Jo Green, Ann Neviaser, Debra McKinney, Andrew Blair, Milton McPike, Alan Stager, Elizabeth Tucker, and Katie Klaus for Verna Fowler.

HEAB Staff Present: Connie Hutchison, Sherrie Nelson, John Whitt, Sandy Thomas, Cassie Weisensel

Others Present: Sharon Wilhelm, UW System Administration; Dan Goyette, Alverno; Tom Heffron, WTCS; Kristofer Frederick, UW System Administration; Rolf Wegenke, WAICU; Paul Nelson, WAICU; Jacky Thomson, Alverno; Jessica Clark Justman, DPI; Emily Pope, LFB; Margaret Zitzer, Marquette.

Chair Mary Jo Green called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Moved by Deb McKinney, seconded by Milton McPike to approve the minutes of the March 2, 2007 Board Meeting.

REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY:

State Budget Update: The budget is currently in conference committee. The Assembly and the Senate passed two different budgets but Connie is anticipating increases in WHEG-UW, WHEG-Technical Colleges and the Tuition Grant programs. The budget is expected to be decided sometime this fall.

Proposed Legislation: AB 151 is a partially forgivable loan for students of veterinary medicine for food producing animals. SB 252 is a companion bill to AB 151, which is 80% forgivable. AB 440 is a partially forgivable loan for pharmacy students who work in a shortage area. Connie explained to the board that forgivable loans are very expensive to run when the loans go into repayment. All of these bills are being considered as part of the Assembly Budget Bill.

Talent Incentive Program Update: A complaint was received from the US Department of Education from a student who felt discriminated against because race is one criterion that can be used to determine TIP eligibility. Race is not a required criterion, just one of many criteria used in determining eligibility for TIP. HEAB has been working with the Department of Justice on this. HEAB is currently waiting for a response from the US Department of Education.

Special Presentation: A special presentation was made for the outgoing Board Vice-Chairperson, Ann Neviaser, who is retiring from the Board this year. Mary Jo thanked Ann for her dedicated service over the past five years. She has been a great asset to both the Board and

the HEAB staff. On behalf of all, she was presented with an inscribed plaque noting her years of service to the Board. Ann took a moment to thank the members of the Board and other attendees to Board meetings for their dedication.

BOARD REPORT #08-01 2007-2008 Minnesota-Wisconsin Reciprocity Agreement

The current agreement will not change for the 2007-2008 school year but there are some substantial changes for the fall of 2008. Beginning in 2008, the payment that Wisconsin currently makes to Minnesota for the difference in tuition will now be sent to the University of Minnesota System and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System instead of the State of Minnesota. There will also be a new program called the Wisconsin Reciprocity Supplement Program where the Wisconsin payment will be redirected to the Minnesota campuses to cover the tuition gap between the higher-of-the-two and comparable state tuition rates.

Moved by Ann Neviaser, seconded by Milton McPike, to fully endorse the changes in the Minnesota-Wisconsin reciprocity agreement. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #08-02 Status of 2006-07 and 2007-08 Applicants and Programs

In 2006-07 WHEG-UW has committed 132.00% (\$57,213,737) of its appropriation with 29,170 awards. This is 96 more awards and 1.49% less committed than at this time last year. The final commitment for 2005-06 was 132.00%. WHEG-WTC has committed 170.10% (\$28,382,629) of its appropriation with 33,950 awards. This is 40 more awards and .22% more committed than at this time last year. The final commitment for 2005-06 was 170.10%. WTG has committed 104.15% (\$23,698,459) of its appropriation with 9,314 awards. This is 941 fewer awards and 3.78% less committed than at this time last year. The final committed 207.90% (\$839,937) of its appropriation with 550 awards. This is 248 more awards and 108.47% more committed than at this time last year. The final commitment for 2005-2006 was 99.43%. The number of applicants through June 12, 2007, for the 2006-07 academic year is 254,376.

In the current academic year WHEG-UW has committed 126.72% (\$49,774,907) of its appropriation with 23,474 awards. This is 1,155 fewer awards and 15.24% more committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed 111.48% of its appropriation at this time. Note: The appropriation recommended by the Joint Finance Committee, plus \$4,064,684 of the \$8,000,000 the Governor restored to WHEG-UW, was used to calculate the 2006-07 committed percentage. WHEG-WTC has committed 129.54% (\$21,648,456) of its appropriation with 25,224 awards. This is 260 fewer awards and .17% more committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed 129.37% of its appropriation at this time. WTG has committed 113.06% (\$28,285,878) of its appropriation with 10,140 awards. This is 2,120 more awards and 17.40% more committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed 135.06% (\$545,644) of its appropriation with 335 awards. This is 35 more awards and 35.30% more committed than at this time last year. In 2006-07 the program had committed 94.13% of its appropriation at this time. The number of applicants through July 11, 2007 for the 2007-08 academic year is 178,116. Last year at this time there were 172,167 applicants.

BOARD REPORT #08-03 2006-2007 Annual Academic Excellence Scholarship Program Report

Every year HEAB is required to report on the status of the Academic Excellence Scholarship to the Joint Finance Committee by August 1st. It was pointed out that not much changes from year to year. Eighty-eight percent of the freshmen awarded the Academic Excellence Scholarship in 2006 accepted the scholarship and used it to attend a Wisconsin post secondary institution. In 2006-07, 777 freshmen enrolled in a Wisconsin post secondary institution. Total AES funds going to freshmen students were \$853,127 with an average award of \$1,098.

Break at 10:10am for 10 minutes.

Meeting called back to order at 10:24am

ELECTION OF 2007-2008 BOARD OFFICERS:

Elections were held for the three Board officer positions, Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary.

Mary Jo Green opened the floor for nominations for Chair. Debra McKinney nominated Mary Jo Green for the position of Chair, seconded by Milton McPike. The motion passed unanimously.

Debbie McKinney nominated Liz Tucker for the position for Vice-Chair, seconded by Milton McPike. The motion passed unanimously.

Ann Neviaser nominated Debbie McKinney for the position of Secretary, seconded by Milton McPike. The motion passed unanimously.

SETTING OF MEETING DATES FOR 2007-2008:

The dates that were chosen are as follows: November 2, 2007; February 1, 2008; April 4, 2008; and August 8, 2008.

Moved by Liz Tucker, seconded by Milton McPike, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and Chair Mary Jo Green adjourned the meeting at 10:50am.

Respectfully submitted by Debra McKinney, Secretary