The Board

The Higher Educational Aids Board is a part-time independent policy-making board composed of twelve members appointed to serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Governor appoints one member from the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System; one member from the State Board of the Wisconsin Technical College System; one member who is a trustee of an independent college or university to represent such independent institutions; one student and one financial aid administrator each from within the University of Wisconsin System, Wisconsin Technical College System and independent institutions; one citizen member to represent the general public; and the state superintendent of public instruction. The Board is a policy making body with policy making and regulatory responsibilities.

Reports are prepared for the consideration of the Board on important issues. Members are urged to work with issues from a state perspective and not from institutional and system perspectives. The Board's input should focus on overall student need rather than upon the perceived need of specific student categories, institutions, or educational systems.

Some examples of Board issues for discussion and action, when appropriate, include: recommendations for Statutory and Administrative Code changes, Wisconsin Higher Education Grant or Wisconsin Tuition Grant formula elements, and Biennial Budget Proposals.

Board Reports & Meeting Records


2017-2018 |  2016-2017 |  2015-2016 |  2014-2015 |  2013-2014 |  2012-2013 |  2011-2012 |  2010-2011 |  2009-2010 |  Older >

Members of The Board

Mr. Steve Midthun, Chair
Independent Colleges and Universities
Financial Aid Representative

Milwaukee School of Engineering
5778 Rochelle Drive
Greendale, WI 53129
(608) 423-9829
Term Ends: May 1, 2018
Mr. Stephen Willett, Vice-Chair
Wisconsin Technical College System
Board Representative

300 Storms Road
Phillips, WI 54555
(715) 339-2125
(715) 499-0844 (cell)
Term Ends: May 1, 2015
Mr. Robert T. Welch, Secretary
Independent Colleges and Universities
Board Representative

P.O. Box 523
Redgranite, WI 54970
(608) 819-8232
Term Ends: May 1, 2020
Mr. Jose Delgado
University of Wisconsin System Administration
Board of Regents

12900 West North Avenue
Brookfield, WI 53005-5217
(262) 784-1523
Term Ends: May 1, 2020
Ms. Jennifer Kammerud
Office of the State Superintendent,
Policy Initiatives Advisor
Department of Public Instruction,

P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
(608) 266-7073
Term Ends: Indefinite
Ms. Kelsey C. Fenske
Independent Colleges and Universities
Student Representative

N604 7th Court
Coloma, WI 54930-8790
(608) 369-2492
Term Ends: Indefinite
Mr. Timothy Opgenorth
University of Wisconsin System Administration
Financial Aid Representative
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

13335 Paddock Parkway
New Berlin, WI 531519302
(630) 776-4526
Term Ends: May 1, 2019
Mr. Nathaniel Helm-Quest
Public-At-Large Representative
N4762 State Hwy 76
Shiocton, WI 54707-8804
(920) 986-4044
Term Ends: May 1, 2021
Mr. Logan M. Kossel
University of Wisconsin System Administration
Student Representative

8786 White Coral Way
Middleton, WI 53562-4231
(608) 886-5405
Term Ends: May 1, 2019
Mr. Alex M. Hipler
Wisconsin Technical College System
Student Representative

6718 Old Sauk Road
Madison, WI 53705-2427
(608) 358-0148
Term Ends: May 1, 2019
Mr. Jeff Cichon
Wisconsin Technical College System
Financial Aid Representative

Northcentral Technical College
1008 County Rd B
Marathon, WI 54448-9346
(715) 803-1633
Vacant, Ex-Officio Member
Tribal Colleges