The Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board

The Distance Learning Authorization Board (DLAB) is attached to the Higher Educational Aids Board under Wis. Stats. s. 15.03. The board was created under Wisconsin Act 208 and Wis. Stats. s. 39.85 in order to enter into an interstate reciprocity agreement related to state authorization and oversight of distance education programs. A distance education program is defined as "the offering of courses for credit to students in another jurisdiction that will lead to a degree or certificate from the institution offering the course."

The DLAB serves as Wisconsin's portal entity, with membership from each higher education sector including the University of Wisconsin System (UWS), the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), and the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU). One member represents Wisconsin's Tribal Colleges and the final member is the Secretary of the Department of Safety and Professional Services, which has statutory authority over for-profit colleges and universities operating in Wisconsin.

DLAB elects officers annually for one-year terms. It met most recently on December 15, 2023 and elected the following officers for terms ending December 31, 2024:

  • Chair: Dr. Eric Fulcomer, WAICU President
  • Vice Chair: Jay Rothman, UWS President
  • Secretary: Dr. Morna Foy, WTCS President

The tribal college representative to DLAB is Dr. Russell Swagger, President of Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe College. Department of Safety and Professional Services Acting Secretary Dan Hereth is also a member.