The regional higher education compacts (Wisconsin is a member of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact or MHEC) have organized a network of State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements or SARAs. Under these agreements, participating states will recognize the regulations of the home state of postsecondary institutions offering distance learning. Wisconsin law pertaining to Wisconsin institutions will similarly be recognized by other states participating in the reciprocity agreements, thereby exempting Wisconsin colleges and universities from bureaucratic hurdles and costs.

The Distance Learning Authorization Board (DLAB) was created under Wisconsin Act 208 to represent Wisconsin higher education institutions for SARA. The functions of the DLAB benefit students and improve efficiency, ensuring that Wisconsin public and private higher education institutions can offer high quality educational opportunities to out-of-state students and comply with requirements in serving these students in an efficient and cost-effective way by entering into a SARA.

Participating SARA States