MN-WI Tuition Reciprocity Application Instructions

Applying to the program is the responsibility of the individual.

How To Apply

Complete this application IN FULL and submit. Students enrolled under reciprocity who earned credits that were reported by the institution to the WHEAB during any semester of the current academic year, will automatically have benefits renewed for the upcoming academic year at the institution they are currently attending. Therefore, these students need not reapply. If you, or the institution where you are enrolled, do not receive notification of your renewal status within three weeks of your application, please contact the Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board.


The application deadline is the last day of classes at the institution you are or will be attending for the term benefits are needed. Applications WILL NOT be processed retroactively. If you wish to participate in the program for the entire academic year, your application must be correctly completed and submitted by the last day of scheduled classes in the fall term at the institution you are or will be attending.

Who Is Eligible

Wisconsin residents attending Minnesota public institutions and Minnesota residents attending Wisconsin public institutions are eligible. Professional students enrolling in a Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Dental Sciences, or Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program in the public institutions of either state are ineligible for reciprocity tuition.

Notification of Acceptance

You will receive the results of your application within four to six weeks after you have applied. If you do not receive results within six weeks, you should assume your application was not properly submitted and apply again.

Application For Admission

Application to the Minnesota-Wisconsin Reciprocity Program does not constitute application for admission to an educational institution. Regardless of your eligibility for tuition reciprocity, you must still apply and qualify for admission to the school of your choice, following the procedures required by that institution.

Administrative Agencies

The WHEAB will determine the residency and eligibility status of Wisconsin applicants enrolled in Minnesota public institutions and will certify to the Minnesota public institutions which students are eligible to pay the established reciprocity fee. Similarly, the MOHE will determine the residency and eligibility status of Minnesota applicants in Wisconsin public institutions and will certify to the Wisconsin public institutions which students are eligible to pay the established reciprocity fee.

Eligible Institutions


University of Wisconsin

  • University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
  • University of Wisconsin – Green Bay
  • University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
  • University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh
  • University of Wisconsin – Parkside
  • University of Wisconsin – Platteville
  • University of Wisconsin – River Falls
  • University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
  • University of Wisconsin – Stout
  • University of Wisconsin – Superior
  • University of Wisconsin – Whitewater

University of Wisconsin Colleges

  • UW College – Baraboo / Sauk County
  • UW College – Barron County
  • UW College – Fond du Lac
  • UW College – Fox Valley
  • UW College – Manitowoc
  • UW College – Marathon County
  • UW College – Marinette
  • UW College – Marshfield / Wood County
  • UW College – Richland
  • UW College – Rock County
  • UW College – Sheboygan
  • UW College – Washington County
  • UW College – Waukesha


University of Minnesota

  • University of Minnesota – Crookston
  • University of Minnesota – Duluth
  • University of Minnesota – Morris
  • University of Minnesota – Rochester
  • University of Minnesota – Twin Cities

Minnesota State Universities

    Bemidji State University
  • Metropolitan State University
  • Minnesota State University – Mankato
  • Minnesota State University – Moorhead
  • Saint Cloud State University
  • Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Winona State University

Minnesota State Colleges

    Anoka Ramsey Community College
  • Central Lakes Community & Technical College
  • Century Community & Technical College
  • Fond du Lac Community College
  • Hibbing Community & Technical College
  • Inver Hills Community College
  • Itasca Community College
  • Lake Superior Community & Technical College
  • Mesabi Community & Technical College
  • Minneapolis Community & Technical College
  • Minnesota State Community & Technical College
  • Minnesota West Community & Technical College
  • Normandale Community College
  • North Hennepin Community College
  • Northland Community & Technical College
  • Rainy River Community College
  • Ridgewater Community & Technical College
  • Riverland Community & Technical College
  • Rochester Community & Technical College
  • Vermilion Community College